Home Page
Home Page
Remember to book your tickets for Jubilee Fest at EDA on the 12th July 2022 click member as Holly Grove parents/children do not pay.
  • Search


Welcome to our Governors’ section


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


What do school governors do?


The governing body of a school is responsible for ensuring that it is run to promote pupil achievement. Its duties include:


    •    setting strategic direction, policies and objectives

    •    approving the school budget

    •    reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives

    •    appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher


The governing body is made up of:


    •    parent governors (elected by parents)

    •    staff representatives (elected by school staff)

    •    local authority governors (appointed by the local authority)

    •    co-opted governors (members of the local community appointed by the governing body)

  • Foundation governors (as we are members of a Trust)


At Holly Grove Primary the full governing body meet termly and further sub committees covering resources, teaching and learning and pupil support also meet on a half termly basis.

Name of Governor

Type of









Darren LennonLEAChair of GovernorsJun 18Jan 26
Joanne HuskissonCo-opted


Dec 17Dec 23
Kate WalkerCo-opted  Oct 20Oct 24
Claire Price Parent Vice ChairDec 18Dec 23
Lorraine Brown Foundation Sen GovernorDec 13Dec 23
Matt Wallace Foundation  Oct 19Oct 23
Dawn O'Hare Staff Head Teacher  
Sue BarnesStaffAssistant Head TeacherSep 19Sep 23
Theresa Surplice AssociateAssistant Head Teacher  


Governor Monthly Meetings Membership




Darren Lennon - Chair

Joanne Huskisson - 

Dawn O'Hare - Head Teacher

Kate Walker

Lorraine Brown

Clare Price - Vice Chair

Sue Barnes

Theresa Surplice 




Pay Committee Any Governors  except staff Governors
Pay Appeals

2/3 Governors - any governor except Staff Governors

Pupil Discipline/Exclusion 

3 members of the governing body

Except Staff Governors

Head Teacher Performance

Quorum: 2 

Darren Lennon

Lorraine Brown


Staff Disciplinary  

3 Governors  - any governor except

Staff Governors 

Staff Disciplinary Appeals 

3 Governors - any governor except

Staff Governors